The Boathouse Studios has unveiled the wonderful stained glass triptych, designed and created by local artists Jamie Owens and Duncan Smith. The detailed and intricate frame fabrication and installation was carried out by Rooff’s own Darren Fenwick.
The project was funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund with additional financial support from Rooff and is inspired by the rich history of the Barking Creek. Rooff are proud to have supported this community project celebrating the amazing history of the local area, which was once a vibrant fishing town and home to the largest fishing fleet in the world during the 19th Century (The Short Blue Fleet).
The unveiling ceremony was attended by people from the local community with local poet, Mary Walsh reading a very fitting poem about the hardships of an apprentice fisherman’s life in the 1890’s.
The stained glass triptych is well worth a visit and is located at the Boathouse Studios, The Malthouse, 62-76 Abbey Road, IG11 7BT, above the staircase leading to the Boathouse Cafe and Bar.